Our customers are at the heart of everything we do. To recognise those of our residents who go the extra mile to improve their communities and support fellow residents – we hold a Customer Awards ceremony every year.

On this occasion the event was sponsored by our contractors Armstrong York, Mears R Benson, Morgan Sindall, Pellings, Vallectric and WG Wigginton.

On the night of The Barnet Group Resident Awards, much of Barnet was enveloped in a thick layer of ice and snow. But we are delighted to report the freezing temperatures didn’t deter residents from attending – the awards had a very warm atmosphere inside.

The event took place at Hendon Town Hall and was hosted by Dave Thomas, manager of joint-partnership initiatives with Barnet Council, BOOST and Welfare Reform Task Force.

Trudi Kleanthous, Director of Corporate Services, Mike Gerrard, Financial Director and Elliott Sweetman, Director of Operations also attended and were joined by The Mayor of Barnet, Brian Salinger, and The Barnet Group Chair, Terry Rogers.

But the night was definitely all about our residents – you!  The highlight of the evening was the two ‘Staff Choice’ Awards that were dedicated to the late Community Engagement Officer Julia Lesczak. The whole evening was a fitting tribute to Julia’s enduring memory.

Our green-fingered residents were also delighted to receive their awards for being winners of our Finest Flowers competition, which took place in the summer. We’ll focus on our gardening winners in a separate news story.

The Awards Ceremony was followed by a Thank-You party for everyone involved – always a special way to cap off a busy year for The Barnet Group. And our customers!

We greatly appreciate the  sponsorship of the event by Armstrong York, Mears R Benson, Morgan Sindall, Pellings, Vallectric and WG Wigginton – without their generous contributions, it would be difficult to maintain important community events like this.

Finally, we’d like to whole-heartedly thank all the residents who were nominated, shortlisted and won awards – our communities wouldn’t be the same without your efforts.

Thank you!

The Barnet Group Customer Award Winners 2017

Barnet Homes:

  • Good Neighbour Award: Michelle Tye
  • Residents’ Association or Community Group Award: The Residents of Drummond House
  • Volunteer of the Year (aged 25 and over): Carl Godfrey
  • Volunteer of the Year (aged under 25): Elias Abreu
  • Staff Choice: Derrick Chung

Your Choice Barnet:

  • Making Progress Award: Sarah Jane Parkinson
  • Striving for Independence Award: Danny Kirkham
  • Carer Contribution: Jane Glear
  • Volunteer of the Year: Michael Barfoot
  • Staff Choice Award: Penny McDonald